Do You Know Your Chakras?

Not many people realize the importance of understanding their Chakras.

It is said that chakras are the windows to a person's soul. Chakra is a Sanskrit word that means wheel or circle. Each person has seven chakras and each of these are supposed to continuously spin which helps to keep a person's physical, emotional, and spiritual body in alignment.

When someone becomes ill you can bet that one or more of their chakras are out of alignment.

The Root and Sacral Chakras

For everyone, the root chakra is directly related to their intuition and survival. This chakra, that is located at the base of your spine, is also correlated with issues of employment, money and shelter. In terms of the body's internal organs, the root chakra is connected to the inner adrenal glands and the adrenal medulla in the kidney. The legs and skeletal system are also represented by the root chakra.

The root chakra keeps us grounded to Mother Earth and is also an extension of the relationship you have with your own mother. This chakra is symbolized by a lotus plant with four petals, with red being its primary color.

If you are constantly uncertain about your life and have fear, then your root chakra is probably blocked. If, on the other hand, you feel rather secure with your feet firmly on the ground, then your root chakra is definitely open.

A person's sacral chakra is usually found in the groin area and is linked to the reproductive system, abdomen, stomach, spleen, skin, muscular system, face muscles and the lumbar region of the back.

Because this sacral chakra is also related to our emotions, it affects our wants and needs. For example, if this chakra is blocked, you may find that your appetite may decrease or that you will not enjoy eating anymore.

If you keep your emotions bottled up inside of you then your sacral chakra could become blocked quickly. If you allow yourself to revel in your emotions, then this chakra will always remain open.

The sacral chakra is symbolized by a lotus plant with six petals with orange being its primary color.

The Solar Plexus and Heart Chakras

The solar plexus chakra is located underneath the ribcage and is associated with both high emotions and high energy, specifically those revolving around self-esteem.

Internal organs that are ruled by this chakra are the pancreas and outer adrenal glands, as well as eye sight. It is believed that people who are nearsighted may feel insecure, whereas farsighted people hold more anger. Those with astigmatisms usually have poor self-esteem.

People whose sacral chakras are open are those who are confident in who they are. Those with blocked sacral chakras usually have low self-esteem.
This chakra is symbolized by a lotus plant with ten petals.

The heart chakra influences love, relationships and overall well-being and rules over the immune and endocrine systems. Our perception of love is greatly influenced by the condition of our heart chakra. A person with blocked heart chakra is someone who is very sensitive, does not like to be touched and has difficulty in letting loved ones go. On the flip side, a person's whose heart chakra is clear is loved by many people.

This chakra is symbolized by a lotus plant with twelve petals.

The Throat, Brow, and Crown Chakras

Communication and other forms of expression are overseen by the throat chakra. Besides being associated with the throat it is also associated with the thyroid gland, shoulders, arms, and hands.

A sore throat is one of easiest recognizable signs of a blocked throat chakra, usually because the person is afraid to tell the truth about something.

The throat chakra is symbolized by a lotus plant with sixteen petals and its primary color is Sky Blue.

Linked to the pineal gland, the brow chakra is located right between the eyes and is also referred to as the third eye chakra. Therefore, this chakra is associated with a person's spiritual viewpoint, both of themselves and of the world in which they live. This chakra also affects our subconscious as well. If this chakra appears blocked it can usually be cleared through listening carefully to one’s self.

This chakra is symbolized by a lotus plant with two petals, with Lapis Lazuli being the color with which it is associated.

The crown chakra, which lies just above a person's head, is seen as representing our consciousness and is linked to the pituitary gland. This chakra is revolves around separation and unity issues.

Someone who is unable to feel like they are a part of society usually has a blocked crown chakra.

It is symbolized by a lotus plant with a thousand petals as well as the color violet.

Photo Credit: YOUscription

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published